Welcome to St. Thomas Aquinas Regional Secondary School

Striving For Excellence! Developing Christian leaders, responsible citizens & life-long learners.

To be an informed individual requires the ability to reason, to solve problems, and to have the tools necessary to be productive in our technological society. To become mathematically literate an individual must develop the ability to analyze, explore, conjecture, reason, use quantitative and spatial information and use mathematical tools to solve problems and make decisions. They must also develop self-confidence in their abilities and to understand and appreciate the role of math in everyday life. 

DEPARTMENT GOALS

  • To meet the BC Mathematics Curriculum and the New Western Consortium Mathematics Curriculum
  • To provide students with opportunity to take a mathematics course that reflects their abilities and meets their needs.
  • To provide students with mathematical skills and tools to help them achieve their academic and/or career choice
  • To help students to confidently use numeracy and problem solving/reasoning skills and tools in everyday life

TEACHERS IN THE DEPARTMENT

Ms. Margaret Martins Department Head
Pre-Calculus Math 11
martins@aquinas.org
Mr. Nicolae Cune Math 9 ncune@aquinas.org
Mr. Andrei Florut AP Calculus 12, Calculus 12, FOM 12, FOM 11,  Math 8, Enriched Math 8 aflorut@aquinas.org
Ms. Jacqueline Lamasan Pre Calculus 12, AWM 10, FOM 10 jlamasan@aquinas.org
Mrs. Nicola Liang FOM 10  nliang@aquinas.org
Mrs. Tyna Onysko-Meier AWM 11, Math 9, Math 8, WP Math 9 meier@aquinas.org
Ms. Anita pilar Math 10 arestivo@aquinas.org

REMINDERS/DATES

Pascal, Cayley and Fermat Contests for grade 8 to 11 students will take place in February. Students should speak to their math teachers about registering for these contests and receiving practice materials.

Euclid Contest for grade 12 students will take place in April. 
Students who wish to register are asked to see Ms. Martins.

Gauss Contest for grade 8 students
For contest practice materials and information go to:http://www.cemc.uwaterloo.ca