Welcome to St. Thomas Aquinas Regional Secondary School

Striving For Excellence! Developing Christian leaders, responsible citizens & life-long learners.

The program consists of well developed junior and senior Science components. Students are offered opportunities to develop their skills and increase their knowledge through formal labs, field trips and outside contests. The common theme through all junior and senior Science courses is the acquisition of a wide range of knowledge, methods and approaches that allow critical thinking

DEPARTMENT GOALS

  • develop in our students the capacity to think critically, especially when analyzing personal and societal issues
  • cultivate our students’ appreciation for the scientific endeavor and their potential to contribute to it
  • provide our students with the opportunity and skills to pursue further study in a scientific field or a field related to science
  • facilitate our students’ exploration and appreciation for the many connections between science and our Catholic Faith

Science Department

Ms. Treacy Department Head
Chemistry 12, Chemistry 11, Science 10
treacy@aquinas.org
Mr. Chan Biology 12, Science 10, Science 8  jchan@aquinas.org
Mr. Cune Physics 12, Physics 11 ncune@aquinas.org
Mr. Lamasan Biology 11, Science 10, Science 9, Science 8 lamasan@aquinas.org
Miss Liang Science 9 liang@aquinas.org
Ms. Pilar Science 9, Earth Science 11 apilar@aquinas.org
Mr. Grenier Environmental Science 12 grenier@aquinas.org

SCIENCE CLUB

Chemists.jpg
Grade 8 & 9 students are invited to join us at lunch time on Wednesdays in Room 504 to compete in a variety of science-themed challenges such as building a boat out of aluminum foil that can hold the most pennies, building the tallest tower using marshmallows and toothpicks, and building a popsicle car that is powered by a balloon!