Welcome to St. Thomas Aquinas Regional Secondary School

Striving For Excellence! Developing Christian leaders, responsible citizens & life-long learners.

The intent of the Social Studies Department is to expand students' understanding of the historical, political and geographical world that surrounds them. History comes alive with the study of original documents, as well as paintings and pictures through multimedia teacher presentations. Students gain valuable geographic skills using scientific field equipment and develop their cartographic skills using Geographic Information Systems.

Social Studies Courses

Social Studies 8
World Civilizations 500 - 1600

Social Studies 9
Europe and North America History 1500-1815

Social Studies 9/10
Combines Socials Studies 9 & Social Studies 10 

Social Studies 10
Canadian History from 1815-1914, Canadian Geography and Economics

Social Studies 11 
World Geography, Government and 20th Century Canadian History 

Comparative Civilizations 12
World History up to 16th Century

Geography 12
Physical Geography & Environment, Resources & Environmental Issues

History 12 
 20th Century World History

Law 12
Canadian Civil, Criminal and Family Law 
 

SOCIAL STUDIES TEACHERS

Mr. Grenier Department Head
Geography 12, Socials 9 
grenier@aquinas.org
Mr. Campbell Socials 11 cc79@aquinas.org
Mr. Grossling History 12 grossling@aquinas.org
Mrs. Hughes Socials 8 mhughes@aquinas.org
Mr. McCaffery Law 12, Socials 10 gmccaffery@aquinas.org
Ms. Natola Socials 10 mnatola@aquinas.org
Ms. C. Paxton Socials 10 cpaxton@aquinas.org
Mr. Salituro Civ 12, Socials 11, Socials 9 salituro@aquinas.org
Ms. Vuk Socials 8, Psychology 12 vuk@aquinas.org

Program highlights include an Honours 9/10 course at the junior level and a full complement of senior electives including: History, Geography, Comparative Civilizations, and Law 12.

voyageurs.jpg

Heritage Fair - Click on image to view photo gallery