Mathematics

To be an informed individual requires the ability to reason, to solve problems, and to have the tools necessary to be productive in our technological society. To become mathematically literate an individual must develop the ability to analyze, explore, conjecture, reason, use quantitative and spatial information and use mathematical tools to solve problems and make decisions. They must also develop self-confidence in their abilities and to understand and appreciate the role of math in everyday life. 


TEACHERS IN THE DEPARTMENT

 

 Ms. Martins

Department Head
 Pre-Calculus 11

martins@aquinas.org

 Mr. Cune

 Math 9

ncune@aquinas.org

 Mr. Florut

 Math 8, Enriched Math 8, FOM 11, FOM 12, 

 Calculus 12, AP Calculus 12

aflorut@aquinas.org

 Ms. Lamasan

 AWM 10, FOM 10, Pre Calculus 12

jlamasan@aquinas.org

 Mrs. Liang

 FOM 10 

nliang@aquinas.org

 Mrs. Onysko-Meier

 Math 8, WP Math 8/9, Math 9, AWM Math 11

meier@aquinas.org


Jumpstart Math Camps

  • Math 8 
  • Foundations & PreCalculus Math 10
  • PreCalculus Math 11

 

 

REMINDERS/DATES

Pascal, Cayley and Fermat Contests for grade 8 to 11 students will take place in February. Students should speak to their math teachers about registering for these contests and receiving practice materials.

Euclid Contest for grade 12 students will take place in April. 
Students who wish to register are asked to see Ms. Martins.

Gauss Contest for grade 8 students
For contest practice materials and information go to:http://www.cemc.uwaterloo.ca